AVS Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will first admit that I am new to the audiophile world and my question is more about speaker principles rather than any specific brand of speaker.

I suspect that when purchasing speakers to fill a big home theater room, large floorstanding speakers clearly surpass bookshelf speakers in utility given the area.

As room size decreases, do the advantages of floorstanding speakers disappear? I am considering creating a 2ch system in my new office for music, but it is about the size of a small bedroom and I was concerned that floorstanding speakers would be a bit much. Thought it might be a waste of money, like buying a full riding mower for a tiny front lawn.

It also has hardwood floors instead of carpet. Should that affect my decision too?

·
Registered
595 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by WCoast02 /forum/post/18265810

I will first admit that I am new to the audiophile world and my question is more about speaker principles rather than any specific brand of speaker.

I suspect that when purchasing speakers to fill a big home theater room, large floorstanding speakers clearly surpass bookshelf speakers in utility given the area.

As room size decreases, do the advantages of floorstanding speakers disappear? I am considering creating a 2ch system in my new office for music, but it is about the size of a small bedroom and I was concerned that floorstanding speakers would be a bit much. Thought it might be a waste of money, like buying a full riding mower for a tiny front lawn.

It also has hardwood floors instead of carpet. Should that affect my decision too?