AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just how good are the front projectors in the $3000 to $6000 or so price range? I am just starting out redoing a basement room into a dedicated HT. I am not sure yet if I will go HDTV rear projection (if so it will be as large as I can get so 72 to 80 inches or so) or front projection. I am leaning heavily towards front projection but I don't want to compromise image quality for coolness factor.

So, I have seen lots of links and ads for front projectors in the $2500 to $6000 dollar range, but I am wondering how good these ones really are, especially in sharpness/resolution. If I go front projection, I am hoping to actually have a budget of closer to $10K to possibly $12K for the projector and including screen so comments on projectors in this price range would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Jim

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
All right, 57 views without a reply. My apologize, please ignore my repetitive request for any additional comments on FPs in the $10K to $12K range, I now there are an endless number of archived posts that will satisfy this question that I can go back through.

So, what I am really looking for is just a few "general" comments on how good image quality is on these low-end FP systems. Not looking so much for reviews on specific FPs, I am more trying to understand the technology and it's limitations. There is such a HUGE price range difference for FPs that I can't help but think one selling for less than say $15K couldn't possibly be decent if others average in price for more than $30 thousand dollars. So, I'm just looking for reassurance from those who can speak from experience. I think I will have a $10 to $12K budget, but just asking myself how good of an image are the ones that cost less than $10K capable of. Thanks folks.

Jim

·
Registered
728 Posts