AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 133 Posts

·
Registered
247 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I'm pretty new to the subwoofer game, and I don't have a lot of cash on hand. I've currently got two of the new Dayton 12" subs on order (one for computer room, the other for home theater). They were pretty much the best I could find in the budget I was looking for.

But...

Silly me, I've kept reading this forum, and people keep saying how the Dayton doesn't go below 35 Hz at best, etc, etc. I think the 12" will definitely more than suffice for the computer, but I'm having second thoughts about the HT.

So, I'm toying with the notion of building a 15" Quatro instead, with the 240 Watt PE plate amp. Any thoughts? How hard is it to build a box, and are there any good resources I should be looking at before I even think of such an undertaking? Also, how much would I expect to spend in extra materials? I know I'd have to go buy some MDF at a minimum.

I haven't decided on anything yet, and I may just take the 12's and be happy. This would probably cost at least 100 bucks more...

·
Registered
365 Posts
Not that hard, but it could take some time, look here for info: http://www.diysubwoofers.org/

Get WinISD Pro or unibox or bass box or some program to model the woofers and tune the box.

Basically you'll need MDF, screws/glue/etc, finish (paint or whatever), feet, sealer or caulk, bracing, perhaps some padding or fill and/or ports depending on sealed vs ported.

Obviously you'll need a driver and an amp and some wires as well. You may want a grill of some kind.

Then when you're all done you'll figure out ways to do it better or want to upgrade and this process will never end.

You might also want to consider a kit like this: http://www.partsexpress.com/pe/showd...number=300-762

Good luck!

·
Registered
193 Posts
Hi SteveCallas,