AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I skimmed through most of the "splitter" threads and am still a bit confused. I'm new to all of this so sorry for any dumb questions.

I have basic cable tv and I plan on doing some rewiring in the house. This is what I had in mind:

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ | ¯¯¯¯¯¯| -----------> Cable Modem

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ | 2 Way |
Cable line --------->| splitter |

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ | ______| --------> | ¯¯¯¯¯¯| ------> TV

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ | 4 Way | ------> TV

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ | splitter | ------> TV

\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\ | ______| ------> VCR

Is that okay or will I need some sort of amp/booster for better signal?

Also, I was looking at some of those Leviton wallplates and was wondering if I actually need those "Snap-in Connectors"?

OR

Should I be running the wire right out of the wallplate with no extra connctions in between?

·
Registered
1,909 Posts
You will only know once you actually do this, you may need amplification for one or more of the splits you may not.

If you find that you need an amp and the cable modem is working okay try the amp after the 2 way split you may need to move it elsewhere but you really need to wire it and see what happens!!

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys for the info.

If I'm using Canare RG6 and their F Connectors will the length still be a huge factor?

I have a Spaun VZF 4 F ( 2way splitter) and a Spaun VZF 8 F (4 way splitter) that I got off a friend. Are they any good?

·
Registered
44 Posts