AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All-

I've got a 3310ci and am thoroughly confused- how the heck does internet radio work? At magnolia they had all these stations pull up upon demo- I can't get one freakin station to come up!

What am i doing wrong?

Thanks

·
Registered
18,923 Posts
I thought I read about other people having problems getting internet radio working on Denon.

People have definitely run into problems with the Yamaha 2700/3800/3900.

Networking can be painful. I have a lot of experience with computers programming them, and know a little bit about networking and I have read posts explaining how people fixed issues without fully understanding the solution.

Maybe you could start looking at the 3900 thread. I am pretty sure some people posted some solutions to problems they had. One thought off the top of my head was that they manually assigned a TCP/IP address to their receiver to avoid any DHCP complications ( DHCP is a mechanism by which a network device acquires an internet address on it's local network.)

It's best to go into your router and reserve a range of addresses before manually assigning addresses, but if you have a simple network you might be able to get away with just trying one at random like 192.168.0.50 (assuming you don't use Apple hardware which uses 10.0.1.x for addressses.)

·
Registered
246 Posts
I couldn't get it to work until I realized I plugged the ethernet cable into the Denon Link port instead of the Network port. Doh!

It easy to get the wrong port when you are going by feel. Once the right connection was made I get tons of channels - they are just streamed audio. Many have poor sound at 32 KHz, some are 44.1 KHz and sound better. It's a feature, but I don't know how much I will use it.

·
Registered
12,310 Posts
Internet Radio is very kool..