AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there. I'm a regular on the ReplayTV forum but this is my first time here...

I have a 3M MP7630RAV projector and a Da-Lite 80"x60" electric screen. The screen takes 110VAC common, and one hot lead for motor up and another hot lead for motor down.

I'd like to have the screen come down automatically when the projector is on. I'm familiar with how to set up a relay (SPDT, default for common-to-motor-up and powered for common-to-motor-down).

What I have absolutely no idea about and what I'd like the advice of someone who's done it before is.. how do I power the relay? What on my projector do I use to generate some useful signal?

If there was a "screen control" jack that would be easy, of course, but there isn't. Is there any way I can get 5vdc or 12vdc or any vdc from any of the existing ports? Or is there some other way -- light activated...

Any ideas appreciated.

M

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
Mman, I obviously don't have one of those projectors but what you might look into is one of the triggered power strips which would switch an outlet when the projector is turned on. It detects the difference in current draw and has a sensitivity setting.

If that works, then just get a 110VAC relay where on=down?

·
Registered
5,119 Posts
I guess one thing to consider if going the "auto power controller" route, is to make sure the unit is rated for the wattage of the projector. There should be some designed for computers big enough?

Of course light activated switching could be interesting... like the screen goes up on a fade to black? : )

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
1 X-10 wall outlet module

2 NEBS 110VAC power cords

1 Radio Shack 120VAC relay (120VAC coil)

1 Radio Shack relay socket

14 awg wire

solder

------------------------------------------

Replace your normal outlet with an X-10 wall outlet module.