AVS Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Sorry if this is stupid questions but im new to all this regarding calibration.



Ok, so I´ve made sdr-calibration (rec. 709) on my FZ800E using Calman Home Panasonic and my X-rite i1 Display meter.

Pro1 day in Professional1- and Pro2 Night in Porfessional 2-mode.





Now...if im able to...I want to make a hdr-calibration to. But I have a couple of questions...


1: Am I able to do a hdr-calibration using i1 Display Pro and mobile forge app? Or do I need other hardware to be able to calibrate rec. 2020 ?



2: If I can...what mode should I be in on my tv? If I choose Prof. 1 or 2...wont my sdr-calibration be deleted then? Or does the TV save these settings (SDR and HDR) as different presets?


And...are there any complete guide for calibrating HDR on a Panasonic OLED using X-rite?


Sorry for my noob-questions.



All help/answers are much appreciated!


Best regards
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,361 Posts
Sorry if this is stupid questions but im new to all this regarding calibration.



Ok, so I´ve made sdr-calibration (rec. 709) on my FZ800E using Calman Home Panasonic and my X-rite i1 Display meter.

Pro1 day in Professional1- and Pro2 Night in Porfessional 2-mode.





Now...if im able to...I want to make a hdr-calibration to. But I have a couple of questions...


1: Am I able to do a hdr-calibration using i1 Display Pro and mobile forge app? Or do I need other hardware to be able to calibrate rec. 2020 ?



2: If I can...what mode should I be in on my tv? If I choose Prof. 1 or 2...wont my sdr-calibration be deleted then? Or does the TV save these settings (SDR and HDR) as different presets?


And...are there any complete guide for calibrating HDR on a Panasonic OLED using X-rite?


Sorry for my noob-questions.



All help/answers are much appreciated!


Best regards


Tomorrow in the office I will check, but I’m pretty sure you can force on HDR10 and BT.2020 in the TV menu. That way you could use an SDR pattern generator.

I will update when I confirm.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,498 Posts
1: Am I able to do a hdr-calibration using i1 Display Pro and mobile forge app?
Hi,

Any X-Rite i1Display PRO don't have any problem to calibrate any current OLED as its rated up to 1000 nits (Retail version) or 2000 nits (OEM version).

What device are you using with MobileForge?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Tomorrow in the office I will check, but I’m pretty sure you can force on HDR10 and BT.2020 in the TV menu. That way you could use an SDR pattern generator.

I will update when I confirm.

Thanks! :)


Hi,

Any X-Rite i1Display PRO don't have any problem to calibrate any current OLED as its rated up to 1000 nits (Retail version) or 2000 nits (OEM version).

What device are you using with MobileForge?

Oh ok I see, thats good to hear!


Well, this might be one thing to im doing totally wrong. I connect through my mobile phone using the MobileForge app.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,498 Posts
Well, this might be one thing to im doing totally wrong. I connect through my mobile phone using the MobileForge app.
What phone model? Do you use any adapter?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
What phone model? Do you use any adapter?

Oneplus6T...no..the tv and mobile are connected to same network. I connect to my mobile at the beginning when choose Find meter (wich is my i1-meter) and under Find source I fill in my mobiles IP-adress using mobile forge app.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
This is all based on my FZ952, which I believe is similar to your FZ800. The FZ OLED's have separate settings for HDR and SDR, so your SDR calibration won't be lost when you calibrate HDR. However, some settings are shared between HDR and SDR, most notably the BRIGHTNESS setting, so don't adjust BRIGHTNESS in SDR to fix black levels, as it messes up the HDR setting. You'll need to adjust black levels using the 2.5 and 5 gamma settings.

Make sure you're using the correct meter profile. Don't use the OLED profile, use RAW. And use an accurate pattern generator. The FZ TV's are pretty accurately calibrated out-of-the-box, so there's a real danger of making things worse with an inaccurate pattern generator or meter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,498 Posts
Oneplus6T...no..the tv and mobile are connected to same network. I connect to my mobile at the beginning when choose Find meter (wich is my i1-meter) and under Find source I fill in my mobiles IP-adress using mobile forge app.
The patch generation device and solution (MobileForge) you are using is not accurate even for SDR calibration, as MobileForge and your mobile phone will send PC Level RGB-Triplets (0-255) to the TV, while you want RGB-Video (16-235).

Even if you external device with MobileForge, its not bit-perfect also, see that thread: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/139-...-test-pattern-generators-accuracy-thread.html

You can use PGenerator (Rasberry Pi 3+ Model B based) which can generate bit-perfect RGB-Video patterns with CalMAN. Then add to PGenerator output an HD Fury device, for adding HDR10 Metadata and AVI Infoframe.

Using that method you will be able to have low-cost bit-perfect for RGB-Video patterns for SDR or HDR10.

Also even if a TV has a switch to convert SDR input signal to HDR, never use that, as you don't have control of the complete metadata that method will be use, so you can have HDR10 patterns but with incorrect patch generation for gamut.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
If you don't want the expense of a Pi and HDFury, then for HDR calibration on a Panasonic OLED (FZ952) you could use R.Masciola's HDR-10 UHD Test Patterns, put onto a USB drive and played through the TV's own media player. That does all the switching into HDR (PQ) and HDR (HLG) for you. Although the standard HDR settings are pretty good, less than 3 dE
1.jpg
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,498 Posts
If you don't want the expense of a Pi and HDFury, then for HDR calibration on a Panasonic OLED (FZ952) you could use R.Masciola's HDR-10 UHD Test Patterns, put onto a USB drive and played through the TV's own media player. That does all the switching into HDR (PQ) and HDR (HLG) for you. Although the standard HDR settings are pretty good, less than 3 dE
+1

For manual cal, its better idea to use patterns from your actual source player, SDR patterns for REC.709 and HDR10 patterns for REC.2020 as the results will be more accurate than using an un-trusted and non-reference patch generation solution.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
163 Posts
For manual cal, its better idea to use patterns from your actual source player,
What would you recommend where your main source players are the Panasonic OLED’s internal apps on the TV (Netflix, Rakuten, Amazon, etc)? I decided that it might be best to use the TV’s internal media player app for calibration patterns.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,498 Posts
What would you recommend where your main source players are the Panasonic OLED’s internal apps on the TV (Netflix, Rakuten, Amazon, etc)? I decided that it might be best to use the TV’s internal media player app for calibration patterns.
You can use your TV media player then.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,498 Posts
i know this is off topic but do you have to calibrate seperate profiles one for 1080 and one for 4k?
4K SDR or 1080p SDR, both are using REC.709, so there no need for separate calibration.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
74 Posts
This is all based on my FZ952, which I believe is similar to your FZ800. The FZ OLED's have separate settings for HDR and SDR, so your SDR calibration won't be lost when you calibrate HDR. However, some settings are shared between HDR and SDR, most notably the BRIGHTNESS setting, so don't adjust BRIGHTNESS in SDR to fix black levels, as it messes up the HDR setting. You'll need to adjust black levels using the 2.5 and 5 gamma settings.

Make sure you're using the correct meter profile. Don't use the OLED profile, use RAW. And use an accurate pattern generator. The FZ TV's are pretty accurately calibrated out-of-the-box, so there's a real danger of making things worse with an inaccurate pattern generator or meter.
Hi, when you say they are pretty accurately calibrated out of the box, what do u mean? I checked my tv settings between the picture mode available, all values in CMS, WB, Gamma adjustment were at 0 values. The only difference was the luminance 60 for P1, 30 P2, brightness 0, +15 for THX Bright room, +5 for THX dark room and contrast 90. Are there supposed to have any values in the CMS, WB, Gamma etc for each picture mode before calibration?
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top