AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Projectors and was hoping to get some advice from the experts. I am looking to upgrade my Pioneer Elite 610 (58' diagnal widescreen) because although it is beautiful it is not big enough to be totally immersive in my Home theatre/Living room. I will be about 11.5 ft. from the screen for a Front projector. On a scale of 1 -10 (highest) Ambient light in the room is about a 2.5. I watch mostly Dish HD and OTA HD and DVD with about 35% NTSC.

Should I consider CRT. I could get a demo Seleco SVD 800 HD with very low hours on it for about $12,000.

Any suggestions? Thanx in advance.

·
Registered
4,525 Posts
Did you mean " (inches) instead of ' (feet)?

Not much is going to look good at 84 feet wide (twice the width of a large commercial movie theater screen).

...yes, I'm just being a smart-a$$.

At 11 feet away, you should consider a decent CRT, as you don't want to see pixels on the screen. Also, 84 inches isn't terribly large, and a CRT will light it up just fine.

What is your room like as far as installation? Do you have 8 foot ceilings and strong ceiling joists?

·
Registered
5,132 Posts