AVS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
692 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am in need of some help. I have a PSA XV-15 and have placed it in the best location, determined by crawl test, but not getting really great low end-no gut punching or couch rattling. I have a copy of Joe Kanes Blu-ray HD, DVE essentials, which has various sub test tones. Does anybody know how to use them, I am really new to this and have no clue what I should do. I have tried the program in my Yamaha RX-A730 and it set the sub at -3, I was thinking about goosing it a little to see what happens, but still would like to find a way that I can get the best possible bass response.

Thanks for any insight.

·
Registered
15,006 Posts
"Gut punching" and "couch rattling" often means that a subwoofer's location has resulted in placing a room resonance peak at the primary listening position, not that the bass is accurate there. However, most people do prefer bass when it's turned up a few dB.

If you haven't already considered it, a spectrum analysis system like OmniMic or REW can show what's actually going on, rather than leaving you guessing what's happening with your speakers in your room.

You also might want to consider investing in a tactile transducer which will vibrate your couch to enhance your experience of the low frequencies that your subwoofer isn't providing.

·
Registered
75" Samsung Q80R QLED, Denon AVR3300, Revel F36, C25, W263, FV15HP x 2, ATV4K, Sony Blu Ray, Harmony
8,262 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by hmunster2  /t/1523770/how-to-use-dve-hd-blu-ray-to-calibrate-sub#post_24516390