AVS Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

So I have somewhat of a weird question, but honestly, I'm a total noob.. How would you describe the typical Klipsch "sound"? Is there even a typical sound?

I have a specific reason for asking;

Back in the 90s when I was in college and Napster was still a thing, I spent what was a large sum of money for me at the time on a Klipsch GMX 2.1 speaker set for my computer. Even then they were considered just sort of "Ok", but I loved them. In fact.. I *still* love them. The only other thing that's ever sounded that good to me are my Grado SR-80 headphones.. in fact, I'd say they kind of sound similar to me.

So here's the thing- I've never been able to replicate that "sound" in my living room. I can't figure out what it is that I like about it! It's something, but since I can't put my finger on it, I can't figure out what I need to do to replicate it. 

Here's what I think I hear in there. They have a really, really defined soundstage. I wouldn't call the treble harsh, but it's definitely prominent, and there is a lot of detail in it. It feels.. "deep"? Resolution might be the word? Everything is sort of "airy" and seems pretty well balanced. The bass is tight. There's no "foof foof foof" port noise like I've heard in my other subwoofers/speakers. 

Anyway, I've spent a ton of money since then trying to replicate whatever the "it" is I hear in there, but it isn't working. I've tried some other Klipsch gear, but it wasn't there. At the moment I've got some Polk Monitor 70s that I like, but they still don't have the "it". 

I can't figure it out, is it the tweeter? are they EQ'd in some weird way?

So I'm curious, does anyone remember those and does anyone know if they have the "Klipsch sound", whatever that might be? Or am I just a complete weirdo for liking what might be a completely terrible pair of speakers?