AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received my xb31 a couple of weeks ago and couldn't be happier! I thought about posting my comments in the thread asking about the "best DLP in the $3500-5000 range", but decided to let that get back to that specific question - altho there's some great xb31 dialog there...

A bit of background. I've been reading this forum for nearly a year when I decided I wanted to pursue a projector for the HT. This is my first projector so I don't have a lot to compare it to. Please take my comments in that vein.

I was able to see both LCD and DLP projectors in a couple different settings. I quickly found that I do not have "rainbow-itis" and that screendoor really bothers me. The DLPs I saw just showed a better picture - "warmer" is a term that comes to mind.

In addition to the xb31 the LT 150z was on my short list. Altho I was unable to see either projector I felt confident buying sight unseen after reviewing this forum and other sources. I know this violates recommendation's on this forum, but you must be able take comments with a grain of salt and I felt I filtered the info available to narrow it down to these two pjs.

The LT 150z was high on the list because of all the great comments here and the price point. The HP xb31 got the nod for several reasons. First I am unable to 100% control the light in my room. The higher lumen rating of the xb31 was a plus. The newer technology of the xb 31 was also a decider. As I mentioned I do not see rainbows, but I didn't want the family or friend to see them either. So far, 12 or so people have seen the display and no complaints of rainbows - just WOW!