AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie to the forum, and haven't had a chance to go through the mountain of posts but I thought I'd post the following question and see what response I get.

I want to build a HTPC and of course enjoy HDTV to the fullest (ESPN HD). From what I can gather I'm not sure I can view HD through my pc if I get HD from a cable operator like Comcast, Dish, Voom, etc. Is this indeed true? My only option would OTA HDTV?

If not true which HD Cards could I try? Is there something on the horizon? Also if the HTPC is out in terms of being a hub for the HD signal, have people used splitters or other means of hooking up Cable Co. HD Tuners as well as HTPC's through a single DVI input on a plasma/projector?

Apologize for my ignorance.

· Registered
19 Posts
That's correct, current hardware (at least everything I'm familiar with, which is all the mainstream cards) can only receive OTA HD. There aren't any cards that can take a component input stream either.

You could use a DVI switching box to swap between the HTPC output and your cable box without any hassle.

· Registered
23,129 Posts
The Fusion III QAM and Sasem USB HDTV can recieve HD from cable. But only unencrypted channels. Whether or not the channels you want to watch are unencrypted is a different question.

· Registered
6,664 Posts
The Fusion III I have receives Comcast HD, including ESPN. I'm not sure about the legality of getting ESPN via such a card. The locals they do not charge extra for, but there is a small extra charge for other HD channels.

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks guys for the posts.

So technically if I pay for all the HD premium channels they should be unencrypted after they pass through the Comcast STB and before going into my HTPC with a Fusion III card wouldn't they.

If anyone has tried this scenario let me know.

· Registered
23,129 Posts
Quote: