AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI. My 18 month old HTPC started to crash every few minutes. I did a clean re-install of VISTA Ultimate in the hope that OS has been corrupted. Here are the system details

Antec NSK2480 with 380W EarthWatts PSU

GA-MA69GM-S2H

CORSAIR XMS2 2GB

AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+

Sampsung Spinpoint 500GB

AVerMedia AVerTV PCIe

Microsoft Remote

LG DVD-RW

Vista Ultimate

Encore wireless N card

Is there a way I can determine which component is causing the problem? I suspect it could be motherboard. If that is the case, what microATX mobo would you recommend? What you guys do to trouble shoot such situation. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,650 Posts
Clean your BIOS, flash with the latest version. If motherboard is the problem this might fix it.

Next replace memory and test.

Check your power supply. Substitute with another one if you can.

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks hirent. I am a novice and need little hand holding. Hope you won't mind.

How do you clean the BIOS? Do you install the directly install the latest bios, or successively install all versions? How do you check the power supply? Thanks again

·
Registered
48 Posts
You would normally just download the bios flash utility/bios from your mobo manufacturer's website and flash to the newest version. This could be dangerous if you are experiencing random crashes though, as a crash during a bios flash may render your mobo useless.

What do you mean by "crash"? Does it simply hang and you cant even use the mouse, or does it random-reboot, or blue screen, or what? I think more detail there could help pinpoint your problem for the experienced troubleshooters of this board. I would also try disconnecting everything non-essential (extra usb ports, front audio, etc) and see what happens, especially if the crash is on such short intervals because you don't have to wait long to see if it had an effect.

·
Registered
109 Posts