AVS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi.

OK. So I am new to the HTPC arena. I recently put together two machines at my home. One machine is intended to be used as a Home PC/File server. The other is intended to be used as an HTPC. The two boxes are about 20 feet from each other. I am using Windows 7 Pro 64x on both machines and use WMC on the HTPC. The problem I am unable to resolve is intermittent stuttering with audio and video that is streamed to the HTPC.

It seems like I should have enough horsepower (specs below) to serve the files flawlessly, but I get stuttering. Are there some processes I should turn off assoicated with Windows 7 on the PC that may cause big resource spikes that would affect the serving of the files? Is the onboard LAN a problem? What might cause a problem with data throughput with my configured system? I am really trying to narrow down the possibilities at this point. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Here are the specs for the machines:

PC

Asus P8P67-M Pro

Intel Sandy Bridge I5-2500K

4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

Crucial 128 GB SSD

Hitachi Deskstar 1 TB 7200 RPM SATA II 32 MB

LG 10X Blu-ray Burner - SATA WH10LS30

HTPC

Asus P8H67-M Pro

Intel Sandy Bridge I5-2500K

4GB DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

SAMSUNG Black Blu-ray SATA Model SH-B123L/RSBP

D-Link DWA-552 32-bit PCI Xtreme Desktop Adapter

Crucial 64 GB SSD

Router: D-Link DIR-655 Xtreme N Gigabit Wireless Broadband Router

·
Registered
934 Posts
it's hard to say. Could be radio interference. Anyway to try hooking up the HTPC by wire?