AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've suddenly realised I may possibly have the PC kit to enable DVD playback etc. on our new family Panasonic 50PHW5 plasma!, however i'm completely new to this.

Plasma native res is 1366 x 768, however does not support DVI input (there is a Panasonic DVI card out there but evidently it only supports 1024 x 768), so the only input option I have (as I understand) is the VGA in.

Current PC is AMD 2100XP on ASUS 333 motherboard, 1GIG 2100 RAM, x2 60GIG Maxtor 7200rpm DMA133 drives, GeForce 4 Ti4600, Creative 128 sound card, XP Pro.

Questions:

1. Will matching the output resolution of the PC to the native resolution of the plasma via a VGA cable yield a stunning picture? From what I've read this may be the case.

2. Will it perhaps improve on picture quality from existing Arcam DV270 DVD player in progressive mode (via RGB component)? I have to admit the picture from the Arcam player is very good, however you don't know what you're missing until you know what you're missing!

3. How can I set the correct PC output resolution (if the option is not available via Windows 'Display Properties')? Is there a software package that will enable me to do this?

4. What would be the best software to actually play the source DVDs?

5. The Arcam DVD player uses Vaddis and Sil504 chipsets, I understand these technologies are to 'clean images', e.g. remove jaggies and other artifacts, etc.. Will the GeForce 4 handle this? or is a Radeon perhaps a better HT option? or this handled in DVD playback software? (I've read lots of HTPC systems seem to use Radeon cards!).

I hope my questions above make sense and apologise in advance if I'm obviously barking up a wrong tree! Also hope I've posted this in the correct section!

Perhaps rushing into the Panasonic plasma (with no DVI support!) was too hasty! Is all lost?