AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for something that will act like a TiVo in the fact that it will control my DTV Satalite reciever via IR. Does such a beast exist? I see ( over and over ) PVR's for HDTV and whatever else... but, they are all directed to 'cable' users.

HDTV is not a requirement for me. Just a PVR for my PC that has IR.

TIA,

Chris

·
Premium Member
1,303 Posts
Chris,

You can use a couple of different packages available now that can use an IR transmitter to control a satellite receiver via IR, plus there's a new one coming early next year called SageTV that I've been testing for about 4 months now. If you can wait, SageTV will be worth waiting for (that's my opinion after trying out Showshifter and Snapstream).

·
Premium Member
1,303 Posts
Not yet, unfortunately. If you're in the Dallas-Ft Worth television market, you're elligible to join the beta team.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Could you provide us with any further info on SageTV. I checked out the website http://www.freytechnologies.com/index.htm but would like some user feedback. You said that it compares favorably with ShowShifter and Snapstream. Have you used the new V2.0 for SS or the 3.0Beta for Snap? How does it compare with the standard barers -Tivo and Replay? What tuner card are they recommending? How early next year?

·
Registered
38 Posts
Could you provide us with any further info on SageTV. I checked out the website http://www.freytechnologies.com/index.htm but would like some user feedback. You said that it compares favorably with ShowShifter and Snapstream. Have you used the new V2.0 for SS or the 3.0Beta for Snap? How does it compare with the standard barers -Tivo and Replay? What tuner card are they recommending? How early next year?

·
Premium Member
1,303 Posts
I haven't tried either of the new versions of Showshifter or Snapstream, so I can't directly compare to those.