AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
813 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
If you press Channel UP 3x and then Channel down 2X while in the System Test Menu it will list a whole slew of system data for the Hughes/Mits/Toshiba HD STB. Could someone email me their system data from this screen so I can compare it to mine? I have experienced some audio problems in the last few days on my analog OTA channels. I still have audio on digital OTA channels and satellite channels, but the audio for analog OTA from the Hughes is gone.


When I checked the system data I saw something that looked like "Aud.err". I'm grasping at straws here, but I'm trying to single out the Hughes or my receiver as the problem.


Thanks,


Ralph
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,901 Posts
That is really cool. You can also set the software upgrade schedule from regular to special. Dont know what it does but maybe it is someway to avoid or force an upgrade.


My info has aud.err=0 which looks like it is working. If yours has anything other than 0 I would call Tosh.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
813 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Baimo,


Thanks for the info. I think the first line of the info shows how much time you have had the box powered on! Scary!


I don't know what that upgrade "Regular" vs. "Special" is either. I spoke with Hughes HD customer support and told them about that menu and they had no idea what I was talking about. It was the first they had ever heard of it. they thought it was something for the engineers.


I'll check out my audio info against yours when I get home tonight. Thanks again!


Ralph
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
From my Toshiba DST-3000 (new Jan/2002 )


Build = 0275 Uptime = 68H 45m


C901,P11951,cs:80,mk:00


Authorized=2/22/02


Bldr ver=1,core=1,ext=0,pat=0


Upg: n/a/m=3901/0/0 No Schedule


S=3,T=22,C=509,V=10/197 A=11/200


ty/ch/frq/std/lck=CA/4/69000/STD/1


Demod: ber=20117, ser=0


Aud: err=7,badts=0,drop=0


ov/un/ua/il = 0/13/0/0(00)


tt/rt/fr/rm/re = 0/0/0/2/6


What do all these values mean ?

Is there somewhere I can get description of ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,238 Posts
My aud line is


Aud: err=1337, badts=50, drop=0


I suspect that these are event counts meaning that there were errors. I am not having audio problems but certainly with OTA tuing ther are errors. Also, my up time is alot longer. This must be the time since power on, my uptime is 328 hours.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,123 Posts
Now if only there was a line in there on the Mits units:


Allow side panels to be changed from gray to black: yes/no ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
192 Posts
Just guessing -- but here's what I think some of this might be. I'll know more when I check mine at home.


Build = 0275 Uptime = 68H 45m
box has been on for 68+ hours


C901,P11951,cs:80,mk:00 (blah)

I have no idea


Authorized=2/22/02
a time when you played CSR roulette


Bldr ver=1,core=1,ext=0,pat=0

hardware stuff, blah


Upg: n/a/m=3901/0/0 No Schedule

upgrade info??


S=3,T=22,C=509,V=10/197 A=11/200

your satellite tuner is tuned to satellite 3 - (the 119 slot), transponder 22, which maps to channel 509 in the guide (HBO-HD) and since each transponder can carry multiple audio and video streams we get this mysterious 10/197 and 11/200 stuff. Who knows?


ty/ch/frq/std/lck=CA/4/69000/STD/1

your TV tuner is set to cable mode, vhf channel 4, which has a frequency range from 66 to 72 Mhz (center is 69000 kHz), using either standand NTSC transmission, or maybe it refers to the STD, HRC, IRC channel plans for cable channels. Like I said, I'm guessing. "lck" might mean lock?


Demod: ber=20117, ser=0

ber = bit error rate??, ser = segment error rate??


Aud: err=7,badts=0,drop=0


ov/un/ua/il = 0/13/0/0(00)

overrun??? underrun??? I have no idea???


tt/rt/fr/rm/re = 0/0/0/2/6

?????????
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
From my Toshiba DST-3000:


Build = 0275 Uptime = 330H 30m


C935,P46639,cs:28,mk:a9


Authorized=10/27/01


Bldr ver=1,core=1,ext=0,pat=0


Upg: n/a/m=20269/0/0 No Schedule


S=0,T=20,C=278,V=50/2 A=51/3


ty/ch/frq/std/lck=CA/27/551000/STD/1


Demod: ber=5338, ser=0


Aud: err=4,badts=0,drop=0


ov/un/ua/il = 0/1/0/0(00)


tt/rt/fr/rm/re = 0/0/0/2/1


Duke
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
813 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Thanks for the input everyone. My Aud: err=349. So I still don't know what's up.


Still no audio on the analog channels.


I think's really screwy that only the analog audio is gone. Then again, back in January I lost the video (but not audio) on my analog stations only. Digital OTA video and DirecTV video were fine. The entire motherboard had to be replaced and the unit was working fine since.


I'm going to call Yamaha tech support tonight to see if I accidentally changed something in my A/V receiver's settings.


Ralph
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
813 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
urlybird,


I have the Yamaha HTR 5490. I know that the optical input was not remapped because ATSC and DirecTV audio still comes through. Yamaha customer support had me set up a composite cable out of the STB and into the Yamaha. Still no NTSC audio. Analog signal from DirecTV and ATSC channels passed though. Hughes customer support couldn't figure it out either. The guy said "bizarre" about 20 times, then referred me to my local authorized service center. I guess the box is fried again. I say again because back in January, I lost the NTSC video signal. ATSC and DirecTV signals were fine. NTSC was audio only. Strange, or should I say "bizarre" that two similar problems happened to my Hughes box. I wonder if it's heat related. Box temp was 105 degrees. (I used my two-year old's electronic thermometer.) Both problems also occurred within two to three weeks of an upgrade.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top