AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 444 Posts

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I decided to model a horn that would fit in my room. (Because the LHorn and GHorn wouldn't.)

It needed to have several other features:
-Had to support vertical (primarily)
-As few cuts as possible. As simple as possible.
-Throat had allow for vertical corner placement, for gaining extra SPL!
-Driver had to be visible so that I could monitor excursion and so I could remove the driver without destroying the box.
-Had to have decent SPL, extension and linearity
-Had to be based on LMS-18

I call it the HzHorn.
It is 84x25x25
91db @ 18hz, -3db @ 15hz.

Useable up to ~50-80hz (depending on XO and EQ.)

Edit: Version 2.0!

Draft version of HzHorn (v2) in dark, GHorn light:

This is the biggest box I can support without compromising the soundstage!

I've never built a horn before. Did I get the settings correct or ?

Here is the SketchUp file:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwUrIAjh6sJ3ZWhFMndlWmsxZkE/view?usp=sharing

Attachments

·
Registered
11,474 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
I wanted to start off with one; and maybe build two or four, one for each corner.

Could handle more power if you used a heavy 20hz HPF (48db/oct or something)... But who would do that???

If you used a HST-18 or UXL-18, you'd have to adjust the power and/or XO accordingly for XMECH limit.

·
Registered
1,185 Posts
That's a big old box. But only a 4' square footprint. I likey. :) I know you have a name for it already, but if we're feeling Germanic, we can call it "Das Woofen Coffin." :D

One feature I do like is that you can actually service the driver. I've seen some horn builds that you seal up the driver inside...not a fan of that. Personal preference, of course.

·
Registered
21,319 Posts
congratulations on taking a shot at a horn.

if only running one, set the "Ang" to 2.0 pi space, as that seems closest to what folks measure regardless of placement.