AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just bought 2 ARXP410p, 4 ARXP62 and the center ARXP242C, I have a ONK 304S. I am wondering what receiver would be good to have all 7 speakers playing at once in a large 30x36 space. Is any good 7.1 receiver OK?

·
Registered
188 Posts
Can you suggest which 'good' 7.1 receiver(s) you are considering?

If you find the XP series a bit bright, there should be some receiver/amps which would reduce that somewhat. I'm no expert on which receiver/amp is bright vs warm...lots of others around here seem to have that down.

Other than that, I suggest anything with about 100watts per channel should be enough to create just the right amount of permenant tenitus.
Beware the many receivers which rate the all channels driven output at far more than would be possible given the current draw from the outlet.

Once you've spent some time with that setup, it sure would be nice of you to add a post about the XP62's in my assessment thread...

·
Registered
188 Posts
Naturally, your listening test will be the best benchmark.

I was hoping someone else would chime in about an amp. You might want to post a similar thread over in the receivers forum. I don't know Onkyo gear at all. The digital amplified Panasonics are intriguing, but there again I have not heard them. I have only used what I referred to in my review of the XP62s, which includes Technics DA10 and Sony 707ES amps.

Poking about in the receivers forum for B&W pairing recommendations might be just the ticket. Personally, I'm not too convinced that amps typically contribute that much tonality so long as they are properly designed...tubes excluded.
Adequate/stable power delivery is what I worry more about.

·
Registered
188 Posts
How did the test with the Onkyo 304 turn out? Have you tried anything else? Just looking for closure...you tease!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·