AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been assured it has the upgrade in it!!!

Ok.. so I am new to settin up the Home Theater with a PJ. I plan to figure out the ceiling mounting location when I get it, so I can then plan the size screen that fits good in my room. I assume this kind of setup is in the manual, but is there any advice you pros can give for this newbie??

thanks...

I also need to google AVIA and DVE.. to find a place to get those CDs (DVDs?). Once I get it setup with my goo systems screen.. I am sure I am going to be asking calibration questions.....

I am just excited to say I bought one today.. and I will get it on thursday!

:D the waiting is the hard part...

Do you set this on top of a ladder or something? or just hold it up? to figure out ceiling mounting location...

I will also want to verify the firmware on it.. does anyone know how to check that? oh.. I guess I should read the manual.. I saw where to download it from the official faq.

B

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I am planning for the installation and I am going to get a DVI cable for the projector and then get a DVD player for the DVI connection on the projector. I have heard mixed reviews about the Bravo D1... but good things about the Panasonic DVD-S97 DVD Player. Anyone have first hand experience with DVDs and the DVI input on the Optoma? any suggestions on the DVD player?

·
Registered
12,980 Posts
Congratulations on the purchase.

I have the Bravo, Oppo and have seen the S97 in my home. Kinda nice seeing the old Panasonic menu array, I'd say get the Pany.

Yes march the projector back and look for a ceiling stud, also leaving youself some zooming room either way. You'll need to have the center lens enter the top area of the screen to avoid any keystone use. A mount with an extension pole or build a DIY shelf.