Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay guys, I'm at a loss....

I'm trying to find a new TV. My budget is about 2500 max (including tax 6%).

I'm a college student who is going to purchase a nice tv. I play a lot of video games so i guess here is one of the best places to start.

I don't have any preferences on tech type so i'm open to just about anything. preferablly bigger is better. I can accomodate up to a 57inch crt rptv in my studio apartment. I've looked at the likes of hitachi and mitsu. I like sony and phillips 34 widescreen offerings as well. I also like the panasonic 50inch lcd, but i don't know how i feel about lcd when it comes to viewind dvds and such.

i will primairly play video games probably 50 - 60% of my time. 30% will be dvd's and movies and the rest will be OTA HD and SD.

I really would just love to have a nice set. Hopefully you all will be able to steer me in the right direction. As far as size - it doesn't matter, but i seem to think that about 50 - 55 is going to be just perfect as "currently" my viewing distance is a max of about 8 feet - but later will be further when i move apartments.

thanks for the help in advance!

·
Registered
124 Posts
Have you ruled out Front Projection? I was in your boat until I did a little more reading in the projection forums.

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I don't want to limit myself - and I don't exactly have the home audio setup for it - so that would be an added expense that i'm currently not able to deal with. Perhaps later - yes, but now, no.

As for dealing with that I was always under the impression that front projections were awesome in general but - i don't think i can afford what would be comparable in a rptv.... so i guess i'll be excluding a projector for now.....

I really don't know what to look for at the moment. and I don't want to have to have a very dimly room in order to use a projector.