AVS Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the audio game, but have the money and figured it's about time. between these two set-ups, what is the best value? I know sound is a personal preference, but I'm talking technical spec value. If you do have either of these feel free to throw in your input. I've listened to the Klipsch set-up a few times but not the Polk. I really like the Klipsch, though it was a little sharp at times without turning the treble down a little. (it was transformers which has a lot of those sounds). The two set-ups are 5.1 and I'll get a 7.1 or 7.2 receiver to add to later.

To the good stuff...

Klipsch set-up (w/o receiver)

Front: VF-35

Center: VC-25

Rear: VS-14

Subwoofer: Sub-12

Polk set-up (w/o receiver)

Front: TSi 500

Center: CS20

Rear: TSi 200

Subwoofer: PSW125

I know very little about how to compare the numbers, or what exactly they mean. I have a small understanding of them, but I am just getting into this. Right now I have a logitech 5.1 computer speaker set-up on my TV (Samsung 56" LED DLP 1080p), and I would like to move to something real. Money isn't an issue between the two, so pretending that both systems cost exactly the same, which one would be better for the money? What if one system was $100 more than the other? Say Polk was $100 more than Klipsch, which one would be a better buy? Say Klipsch was $100 more than Polk, which would be a better buy? Thanks for any help.

Also, for anyone who wants to offer any more help... What is a better receiver for either of those systems?

Yamaha RX-V665

or
Yamaha RX-V1065

Comparison

·
Registered
3,637 Posts
I would go listen to the Polk. They are one of the most popular speakers for retailers so finding them shouldn't be hard. They don't sound like Klipsch at all IMO.