AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been researching Receivers now for about 2 months online, and honestly the more I think I understand what I want or need in a receiver, the more I feel like I am right back where I started. I have never bought anything for a home stereo setup, I have done car audio a few times, but that is not really the same as home audio. I think starting off, I am going to get a receiver and two front L/R speakers. The speakers I have narrowed it down to are the Polk Audio Monitor 70's series II. These seem to have a high max watt rating, all the way up to 275w I believe. I will be listening to music and watching tv/movies about equally, a 50/50 split. If I am home I usually have music on. I just need helping narrowing down my search for a quality receiver that can push those speakers well enough. I was thinking the Onkyo TX-NR818 it seems to have most things I need, just not really sure if this is will be about to get enough out of these speakers. I would like wi-fi and usb hook up, but that seems to be standard on most avr's these days. since I'm just rambling now, I am just asking for a couple suggestions of AVR's I should be looking at, or certain things I should be looking for.

·
The Village Idiot
9,716 Posts
Spend as much on speakers as you are thinking of spending on an AVR - then find an AVR that cost about what those Monitor speakers would. Reason is the sound quality is 90% in the speakers and 10% electronics. If you like Polk find something in the RTi or better yet the LSi line. Polk Audio has a large presence on ebay. They sell 'refurbished' speakers there for less than retail and often the product is new. The Monitor series are 'ok' but there are so many better speakers available - even from Polk. You can get a refurbished AVR from Accessories4Less.com for a decent price.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·