AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys, I'm a newly employed sysadmin and I in about six months or so I think I can save up for a Home theater setup. I can manage to save up to about $8k or so and I need some feedback to see if the things I want is feasible. First off I won't be able to have enough money for everything I want but I'm looking for a tri monitor home theater setup. I want to play games on the main monitor (I'm thinking about plasma for main one) with the other two monitors which can be regular 19 inch crts with the possibility of upgrading to two more plasmas if I continue with bachelorhood.

i dont want to use the matrox cards available but instead I want a all in wonder ati 9800 pro for the main monitor (i want to be able to play hl2 with decent speed). so how would I go about setting up the other two monitors?

Also im looking to have digital cable, pvr and sound for all three monitors.

That means I have to have 2 more tv tuner cards right? or is there another way? also would that mean two more sound cards? or is there a adaptor that I can use which hooks up all three cords than splits it to one to my sound card. would that mean i need to get two different brand of tv tuner cards?

any insight is appreciated.

park

·
Registered
3,372 Posts
A comment and a question.

First, I may be dense here, but what's the point of a tri-monitor setup?

Second, plama isn't the ulimate home monitor. Front projection is.

·
Registered
848 Posts