Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2,093 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I'm a little new to this HTPC bizness so bear with me. I want to preface my questions/assertions by letting you know that I'm really a vinyl fan, so... However, digital is the way now, so when in Rome I guess.

I've read in several posts about the noise (jitter) contributed by the lower quality components (power supply, etc) in an HTPC setup. I also know that there are different types of noise- jitter being just one of them. The IEEE has addressed this in various ways- twisted pair media, error correction, etc…

The idea in any computer is to allow consistent and reliable operation. As we all know, computer hardware does this quite well (in my experience, if there's ever a problem, 9 out of 10 causes are software-based or the result of user error).

The idea that I'm getting hung up on is the hardware quality issue and how it affects "the sound" of what is ultimately a digital signal. It seems to me that a PCM signal from a CD player, whether it is audio-based or just the latest Microshaft update- it must be delivered in the same manner, reliably. Again, jitter is just another form of noise. It affects all types of signals- not just PCM signals. I don't see how the power supply is a major factor here. If a computer can't pass a PCM signal without jitter-error being introduced because of a low quality power supply, then it doesn't make sense that any other signal would be passed reliably. What makes a PCM signal any different?