Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi :)

I've read over many many topics here, and I'm still a little confused. I'm new to the scene. I'm planning on buying a Plasma screen soon, but for price, I keep looking at ED's. I've read people saying how their HD-TV looks just as good on the ED's, and whatnot. I didn't know they could even accept it, without 1080i.

If I get an ED tv (thinking Panny or Zenith. The Z was on sale at best buy for 3k), I can get HD channels (with box/whatever from cable company) and get a better picture than a normal station?

Any other FAQ's around too, telling me maybe why to lean tword ED (price, not that big of diff) around?

Thank you very much!

·
Registered
438 Posts
This is covered in many threads linked in the Plasma tv faq permanently present at the top of this forum.

Additionally, there are several active posts even as of today discussing this topic. (over, and over, and over again!)

- pink

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi. Yes I'm doing my bes to read all of that.

The only thing I can not seem to understand I guess is TV shows. Will an HD-TV channel look just as good on HDTV set as it does on ED? (I didn't even know an ED could show it, like a normal old tv or something)

·
Registered
115 Posts
Answers in a nutshell:

Most people cannot tell the difference between a HDTV and a EDTV beyond 8 feet viewing difference.

On a EDTV, SD viewing will be very good to somewhat yucky depending on channel/cable feed/satellite feed.

DVDs will look outstanding.

HD on an EDTV (like HBO HD) will be WOW!

And a live feed HD (such as an ESPN HD sporting event) will literally knock your socks off.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
7,201 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Jonnydanger
What about an EDTV for someone who is looking for a 50 inch plasma display? What companies do I look at for this?

Jonnydanger,

All 50" Plasma displays are HD.

·
Registered