AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new to CIH. I currently have a 106" 1.78:1 fixed frame screen. I'm quite happy with the size for 16x9 movies at 14' away.

I currently have this unfinished space,

I'm looking at building this front stage with a 125" 2.35:1 screen and using the zoom method (new projector in the future)

By my calculation the over spill when I'm zoomed in for 2.35:1 will be 8" on top and bottom? Or am I off?

I'm looking for suggestions for masking below the screen at the top part of the cabinets or is there another way?

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Another question for you audio experts, will my sound get compromised with my speakers getting pushed into the corners?

There will be approximately 8" clearance around the backs and sides.

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
I just moved to a CIH screen using the zoom method. After using my new setup, I am certain you want your design to allow you to have the most absorbing surface you can get above and below the screen. I used the blackest velvet I could find.

If you have a lighter surface that the overflow hits, you're going to see it. Some people find a slightly lighter surface acceptable, I don't happen to.

If you want to do some testing, I wonder if you can't zoom your current projector to simulate the new setup, then put some objects in the over flow area and see how it turns out. Different folks have different tolerance levels for such things.

EDIT: In looking further at your pics, I got to wondering if you have considered putting an acoustical transparent screen in front of the speakers and using a black wall around it similar to what you have.

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Good idea to do a trial run with it. I could even just paint a panel black and raise it up into the black bars to see how much it bothers me.