AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still very new to home theater and have not seen in person a properly ISF calibrated RPTV or FP. My image size and viewing distance requirements are pretty small compared to most other people. In looking at the various throw distance charts, recommended viewing distance formulas, etc. I am looking at a maximum of a 55" wide image viewed from a distance of 84".

Given only this criteria (discarding audio concerns, size of RPTV, maintenance, etc.) I'm wondering if some of the more seasoned veterans who have seen both types of systems in action can advise me as to whether there will be a noticeable difference in image quality between a properly calibrated 55" RPTV and a properly calibrated FP throwing only a 55" wide image.

If there is a noticeable difference between the two (and I'm assuming FP would be the better of the two) what size of CRT tube is needed to achieve the advantage? Can only a 7" tube CRT produce a noticeable difference?

Thanks in advance for any help and info. If there is any kind of a FAQ or buyer's guide someone can direct me to for CRT it would be greatly appreciated.

Dan

·
Registered
3,557 Posts
Hi Dan,

While a good rear screen will yield a worthwhile picture, the best alternative for you will be front screen, due to the real estate required by a RPTV. You're already on borrowed space, so to speak, and you won't lose anything by going FPTV, but will lose a big chunk with a 25" deep (or more) floor hog. Actually, you're an excellent candidate for Plasma. You might put those on your audition list as you check out the possibilities for your room. Good luck.

·
Registered
1,536 Posts
Hi Dan,

I had a Toshiba 65" widescreen HD RPTV, had it ISF calibrated, and then i replaced it with a Marquee 8501LC front projection setup. So that puts me kinda in the position where i can answer your question at least i think :)