AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
402 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just getting started on the research for this RPTV, which I plan to buy in the next 2-3 months. Sets I'm considering so far are:

Toshiba 40H80

Panasonic PT-47WX51

Other recommendations? This is to be hooked up to a Panasonic RP-91 progressive scan DVD player. Most viewing is anamorphic DVDs, with the occasional bit of full-frame material. HDTV-ready is fine, since I don't have any HDTV sources yet and don't plan on getting into it for a while.

edaly

·
Registered
1,692 Posts
Mitsubishi WT-46807

I could not be more happy with this set. They are replacing it with a WT-46809 in about a month or so, but don't be fooled by a later model. Many people have already declared the new model a "step back" on that specific product. I say, if you can find a local dealer, get the 46807 ASAP. I got mine for $1800 recently.

------------------
ADebar's DVD Profiler

Danger! Danger! Danger!

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
The Mitsubishi 46807 is one of my favorites too. I personally dislike the Mitsubishi internal line doublers and would suggest getting an external one eventually with this set.

The Philips 60PP9601 (60" 4:3, 55" 16:9, squeeze selectable) is $2199 at Costco. Be warned that the color on the interlaced inputs may be weak; it's possible that an ISF'ing would fix this, but I only use the progressive inputs on mine (external line doubler.) For HD, rest assured that its color and resolution is spectacular.

Costco has other deals as well.