AVS Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off I am a novice to all of the speaker jargon!! And i tried to do a search but didn't really find what i was looking for..(or i didnt search enough)..lol..so i apologize if this topic is already covered.

But I have a 20'x14' media room that I need to fill with in-wall speakers. I was looking into the Definitive Technology UIW RLS III (2) in the front and Bose 191 (2) for the rear & a possible sub!

What do y'all think about these speakers especially the Def Tech's? Is it worth it at $599 each or are there better in-wall speakers for the money. Any help would be appreciated!!

·
Registered
69 Posts
I just got done doing a dedicated theater room a few months ago. There are far less people doing in-walls than traditional speakers so it's a little tougher getting advice. Generally, once you install your in-walls you are going to keep them as you have a hole in your wall cut out specifically for these speakers. Because of this people know what they have and how it sounds but can't always do comparisons.

I ended up going with Klipsch In-walls. (Got a killer deal on new R-5800-W's on Fleabay..$150ea MSRP:$549) I decided to use the same speaker across the front stage as I like the fluidity of the sound.

Weeks 1-3: I was moderately happy with my setup. I was using a newer Yamaha receiver for amplification in a 7.2 setup. Subwoofer was DIY custom built in-wall dual Shiva-X's. I was by no means blown away with my setup. It was OK at best. I was OK with that since I didn't drop a whole lot of money on the setup. There was definetly something lacking though.