AVS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am installing an HT system and using in-wall speakers. The in-wall subwoofer will be installed in the sheetrock under a built-in cabinet housing the receiver/cable box, etc. The subwoofer space is an unfinished stud wall cavity 27" W X 22" H X 32"D. There is sheet rock on the outsides of the subwoofer cavity walls. The floor is concrete under the speaker.

1) Should I partition or baffle this space to make it smaller or is bigger better for the bass sound? I plan on a 10" sub. 2) Should I put some fiberglass insulation around the inside of the cavity?

I'm new at this so any suggestions would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,438 Posts
What about putting a regular sub in the wall like that? I have a closet that I would like to place them in, firing out into the room. Is that possible?

·
Registered
1,631 Posts
Use an in-wall sub that has an optional enclosure that mounts to the studs. If the wall is still open it's the only way to go.

·
Registered
2,444 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by topr /forum/post/18194584

Use an in-wall sub that has an optional enclosure that mounts to the studs. If the wall is still open it's the only way to go.

It's the only way to go, period.

peleliu, what model sub are you using? If it does not have an separate enclosure that mounts to the studs, you'll get all kinds of vibration plus sound will bleed all over the place. You can't just cut a woofer into a wall and have it work well, sheetrock is NOT a good cabinet material, plus speaker enclosures (especially subwoofers) need to be sealed very tight.

Sounds like the sub maybe doesn't have enough volume behind it, if the vertical is cut off by a built-in for the electronics. Or is this deeper than just 3.5" stud depth? We need more info to better help you.

Pictures?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by head_unit /forum/post/18194996