Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a college student and have myself stuck in the dorms again next year. I'm looking for some small speakers to take with me. Something along the lines of the Bose Acoustimass speakers (in terms of size and quality) but not price. I'm hoping to spend less than $200 and would like to get 4 channels out of it. Anyway, I'm wondering what else is out there that's small. I'd like floor standing speakers, but keep in mind, they are going in a dorm room, so smaller is better.

I've been looking at PC speakers and my gut feeling is that the money would be better spent on home-theater type speakers than home theater speakers. So what else is out there that's small, relatively inexpensive, and still sounds good.

What you suggest doesn't have to be new-I have no problem buying used items as long as they are relatively easily available (ebay for instance) I'm just sort of wondering what's out there, I don't even know where to begin. The only reasonable name I know in small speakers is Bose, who seems to be significantly overpriced for their size.

I'll most likely be driving these speakers with a Carver AV-634 amp I've got here, being fed from a Sound Blaster Extigy. Oh, and lastly-on the AV-634, anyone know where I can get screws for rack-mounting that have some kind of plastic washer or something so they don't scratch the faceplace of the equipment when I rack mount it? Thanks!

·
Premium Member
729 Posts
Erickotz,

4 speakers for $200. that's pretty tough, for $200 you're probably going to have to end up with computer speakers. Onecall has some great deals on discontinued NHT Superzeros for about $75 each, but you'll need a sub in order to get some bass in there. Otherwise you're best bet will be computer speakers. Something like the Monsoon Audio speakers or even the new or used Klipsch Promedia system.