AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Projectors in general. Actually I have never had any experience with them at all.

With that said, I am looking to build an outdoor home theater in my campground. I figure I will be catering to roughly 20-30 viewers at a time. Lighting will be outdoors, so very little ambiant, but not completely black. I plan to build an 8X12 screen with painted birch plywood. A simple 2 channel Yamaha reciever and my trusty Cerwin Vega towers will supply sound. I will run it all through a laptop or upscaling DVD player.

What I am really confused with is the requirements I will need for a projector. I have a line on a used Infocus IN24 that I can pick up for right around $300. My question is, will this projector produce an image that will look professional and crisp? Quality is a concern for me, even though this is a low budget build. I would like to have a crisp image with a nice bright picture and good quality color. Not asking much hey?..haha. Will the IN24 live up to my expectations? Is $300 a decent deal on this model.

The last question I have is, are there any projectors that I should be looking into that might better suit my needs. I would like to keep the costs down as much as possible, but I also don't want to do this outdoor theater and be disapointed with the performance.

Thanks for any input. I am all ears.

SHMO

·
Registered
4,477 Posts
It will look decent if you have never used a projector before, but you need to be careful about how much the bulb has been used or you could be spending another $300 on a bulb in a month. I would bargain down the price to $200

My advice is wait untl you can afford a 720p projector. For around $550

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·