Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I tried searching the forums because I swore I saw this topic before I registered, and now I cannot find it.

Anyways, I just bought a new house and didn't have a lot of time to plan anything so I did 2 runs of Cat 5e into each room coming from a central point in the basement.

I want to know if I can redirect IR signals over the ethernet?

What I want to accomplish, for example, is to have ceiling speakers in the living room, and the A/V reciever in the basement. I have my remote, I point it at an IR input device that is hooked up to one of the Cat5e cables and then outputs into the basement pointing at my reciever. So I can control the system from where ever I have the IR input device.

Hopefully this makes sense, I am still learning, the forums are awesome, I just wish I could find this old post...

If someone could help me out I would appreciate it.

Thanks!

·
Registered
46 Posts
I'm running IR over cat 5 from Russound inwall volume controls/IR receivers to a connecting block at my av equipment, works great. If you need any more specific info let me know.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Hello,

Thanks for the response.

What product are you using over cat 5 from Russound? I checked their website and all the IR products appear to come with wiring of their own.

Thanks again!

·
Registered
322 Posts
All of the different companies that make IR equipment(niles,russound,xantech,etc) normally spec that you use 18/2 shielded, but cat 5 works just as well. Just make sure you have a ground in each pair or you may get interference.

TVtech1, xantech just came out with a tcp/ip version of the xtralink ir system. I don't know if it is shipping yet though.

·
Registered
13 Posts