AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
274 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have little knowledge in this area, but I need to figure out pretty soon what, if anything, I'm going to do about insulation/soundproofing (partial at best) for my basement HT.

The HT room won't even be an enclosed separate room due to practical considerations of using other areas of the basement for other purposes. (In other words, low WAF, although it was ultimately my choice and the conflicts were pretty much all due to things I wanted anyway. But I digress... )

Anyway, the room is a step-down room, as is the room directly above it, so it does have a beginning and end in that sense, it's just that the walls only come back part way on the sides, and it's open to other areas (bar, game, billiard rooms).

So there's no way I'm even concerned about soundproofing it entirely, but I am hoping to do something to reduce the volume of sound to the other levels of the house. I'm mainly thinking of is doing something with the ceiling of the HT room and possibly the other nearby ceiling areas, but I don't even know what. I think a lot of the things I've read about in here would be a waste of my time and money, since there's no way I'll accomplish any real degree of soundproofing. Still I'd have to think there are a few things I could do to get a worthwhile measure of results.

I'd be grateful for any advice. I don't want to have this theater all complete and still have to keep the volume down at night, like I do now in our family room on the main level. Thanks!

·
Registered
711 Posts
Sounds like you've already taken one of the most effective steps in keeping the HT as far away from bedrooms and other areas you don't want to disturb.