AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 4585 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,175 Posts
Seems to have all bases covered, I just wish they hadn't jumped up several hundred since the initial press release.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts
Just ordered mine at a good price from my local dealer. Should be here next week. It will replace an Integra DHC-40.2, the best pre/pro I have owned to date.


How do we make this the "official" owner's thread? Can anybody start an official thread or just Pooh-bahs like moderators and senior members?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
18 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beto3645 /forum/post/20977631


Just ordered mine at a good price from my local dealer. Should be here next week. It will replace an Integra DHC-40.2, the best pre/pro I have owned to date.


How do we make this the "official" owner's thread? Can anybody start an official thread or just Pooh-bahs like moderators and senior members?


I'm looking to purchase the DHC-80.3. I live 2 hours from the closest dealer. I'm trying to decide if it's worth the trip or ordering it direct from Integra. Did you pay less then the MSRP for it?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,152 Posts
I may order one also. I just need to sell my 80.2
 

·
The Village Idiot
Joined
·
9,546 Posts
That seems to have it all eh?


Too bad my DHC 40.1 still smells new. I only use it maybe 3-6 hours a week. Gotta spend more time watching some movies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts
I will buy one of these bad boys if reports from early adopters indicate the annoying clicking sound while watching cable/satellite TV is eliminated. Please report back with your findings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,863 Posts
I want one. But I'm honestly afraid to get one. It seems the first batch of Integras always have some issue. The DTC-9.8 had the HDMI problem and DTS-MA bomb, DHC-80.2 had defective volume knobs, etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
841 Posts
Discussion Starter #11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined /forum/post/20992379


I want one. But I'm honestly afraid to get one. It seems the first batch of Integras always have some issue. The DTC-9.8 had the HDMI problem and DTS-MA bomb, DHC-80.2 had defective volume knobs, etc.


The 80.2's had defective volume knobs? First time I heard about this...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts
The unit arrived yesterday, much earlier than anticipated. I hooked it up quickly and ran the Audyssey calibration, just in time for my regular Friday night at the movies with my friends. We watched The Big Lebowski in Blu-ray. The video was superbit seemed extra sharp. The audio made me realized what a great musical soundtrack TBL has!


I forgot how to set it up so it defaults to the "native" sound signal, be it DTS Master Audio 5.1 or SACD multichannel, for example. I had it on my 40.2 but I cannot remember how I did it. A quick read of the manual did not yield the instructions. Anybody remember?


No annoying clicks or defective volume knob so far!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,097 Posts
Can you give us more info on your set up thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beto3645 /forum/post/20993391


No annoying clicks or defective volume knob so far!

The annoying clicks only occur when watching satellite TV (DirecTV), and from what I've read it also happens with cable TV. Do you subscribe to any of these?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
841 Posts
Discussion Starter #15

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beto3645 /forum/post/20993391


The unit arrived yesterday, much earlier than anticipated. I hooked it up quickly and ran the Audyssey calibration, just in time for my regular Friday night at the movies with my friends. We watched The Big Lebowski in Blu-ray. The video was superb—it seemed extra sharp. The audio made me realized what a great musical soundtrack TBL has!


I forgot how to set it up so it defaults to the "native" sound signal, be it DTS Master Audio 5.1 or SACD multichannel, for example. I had it on my 40.2 but I cannot remember how I did it. A quick read of the manual did not yield the instructions. Anybody remember?


No annoying clicks or defective volume knob so far!

Looks like it's page 58 from the manual. "Audio Adjust"> "Listening Mode"> "Straight Decode".


As I'm considering this unit, I would appreciate if you could post further impressions and also your setup info.


Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Craven More /forum/post/20993639


The annoying clicks only occur when watching satellite TV (DirecTV), and from what I've read it also happens with cable TV. Do you subscribe to any of these?

Okay, I was able to reproduce the clicks. I subscribe to Cox cable TV and the cable box is a Scientific Atlanta 8240HDC. The clicks do not happen all the time. They seem to occur when one is flipping through several channels very quickly, but not always. The cable box lags behind and then you can hear the clicks right before the sound comes on.


If you simply punch in a channel number there is no click. If you change one channel up or down by pressing the channel button most of the time there is no click; once in a while there is a click.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 /forum/post/20993959


Looks like it's page 58 from the manual. "Audio Adjust"> "Listening Mode"> "Straight Decode".


As I'm considering this unit, I would appreciate if you could post further impressions and also your setup info.


Thanks

Thank you! Strangely, when I turned on the unit this morning it was doing straight decoding without me having to go into the setup menu. Yesterday, after the Audyssey calibration, I could not get it to go into "Straight Decode." I was probably looking at the Stereo Inputs and not at the Multichannel Inputs in the Sound Program Edit menu.


Further impressions (I've only had it for a few hours): the sound is more refined and sound effects are better defined compared to the Integra DHC-40.2 (my previous unit). Video processing seems to be very good. It processes DSD from SACD's without the occasional dropouts that plagued the 40.2.


Regarding setup: in general, I prefer Straight Decode in audio and I am using the default modes (usually Auto) for video settings.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
841 Posts
Discussion Starter #18

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beto3645 /forum/post/20994472


Thank you! Strangely, when I turned on the unit this morning it was doing straight decoding without me having to go into the setup menu. Yesterday, after the Audyssey calibration, I could not get it to go into "Straight Decode." I was probably looking at the Stereo Inputs and not at the Multichannel Inputs in the Sound Program Edit menu.


Further impressions (I've only had it for a few hours): the sound is more refined and sound effects are better defined compared to the Integra DHC-40.2 (my previous unit). Video processing seems to be very good. It processes DSD from SACD's without the occasional dropouts that plagued the 40.2.


Regarding setup: in general, I prefer Straight Decode in audio and I am using the default modes (usually Auto) for video settings.

What amp(s) are you using? How many channels are you running? Are you connected using the RCA's or XLR's?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
206 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TL5 /forum/post/20994845


What amp(s) are you using? How many channels are you running? Are you connected using the RCA's or XLR's?

I use a Pass Labs XA-30.5 amplifier for left & right, a Coda 10.5 for center, and a Pass Aleph 5 for surrounds. At the moment only the XA-30.5 is connected via XLR's. I am waiting for more XLR cables to arrive. When they do, all my amps except the sub and the rear surrounds will be connected with XLR's.


I am running 7.1 channels but for the most part only 5.1 are active because there is very little content with 7.1 discrete channels.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
184 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beto3645 /forum/post/20994312


Okay, I was able to reproduce the clicks. I subscribe to Cox cable TV and the cable box is a Scientific Atlanta 8240HDC. The clicks do not happen all the time. They seem to occur when one is flipping through several channels very quickly, but not always. The cable box lags behind and then you can hear the clicks right before the sound comes on.


If you simply punch in a channel number there is no click. If you change one channel up or down by pressing the channel button most of the time there is no click; once in a while there is a click.

Thanks for your reply. But the clicks I'm referring to are the ones that occur on their own while watching a program. It'll happen randomly every 10 minutes or so where it seems like the processor loses the audio stream and finds it again which results in the clicking sound. It'll be interesting to know if you can watch an entire movie on a channel like HBO without this occurring. Any feedback would be great!
 
1 - 20 of 4585 Posts
Top