AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there all, newbie here and need to know if this is possible?

I have just purchased a LCD Flat screen and am looking to hang it on the wall and minimize my AV System. I have a Westinghouse 37" flat screen TV, A Sony Receiver, Sony DVD player and a Atlantic Scientific Cable Box. What I want to do is hide the receiver, DVD player and cable box somewhere out of sight. All of these items have IR plugs on the back of them. What I want to know is, if there is a way that I can Control all these items using one IR receiver? So all I have in my family room is my TV mounted on the wall and an IR receiver that will accept the signal from all my remotes. Looking for options, so if anybody has any suggestions that would be greatly appreciated!!!

Thank you all for taking the time to read my post and reply if needed!!!

·
Registered
3,991 Posts
Easy.....You'll use an IR receiver located wherever you want, some three or four conductor cable (cat5 works fine), an IR connecting block and your emitters.

Quick Demo:

http://www.xantech.com/demo/v2_demo.htm# (click on single zone)

You can use Xantech products or buy a 'canned' kit like the hot link pro:

http://www.smarthome.com/8225p.html

PS....On the hot link pro, don't get suckered into buying the extender cable to move your IR receiver further away. You can just cut the cable and splice in any 3 conductor cable (cat5 is cheap).

Robert

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Do I have to use the emitters or can I just connect the block to say my receiver via like a dual male headphone connectors directly into the receiver using the IR outlet on the back?

·
Registered
5,720 Posts
You can use your existing remotes. That's what the IR extenders are made to do.

If you have an IR input, you can direct connect off the connecting block rather than use an emitter.