AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The Costco near my house is having a sale on all HDTV's, and I was considering finally moving up to one since I have just moved into a new house and will be ordering HD Programming. While they have several Flat Panel LCD and Plasma TV's, they are too expensive for my price range, and so I'm thinking of buying one of the following two:
Panasonic PT-52LCX16-B 52-inch LCD Rear Projection TV

$1399 (After Rebate)

OR
JVC HD-56FC97C 56-inch HD-ILA LCOS Rear Projection TV

*I know its not the exact model but for some reason, JVC doesn't list the FC model on their website*

$1799 (No Rebate)

I'm new to the whole "HDTV" thing, so yesterday night I did some research, reading up on various articles I could find online as well as going over the explanations over at CNET's HDTV World website.

A question still lingers for me though-are Microdisplays worth the money? From what I've read you have to change their lamps every 3000-10,000 hours. I'm not that concerned over the option to mount a TV on my wall, so the microdisplay's extra heft over a traditional Flat-Panel is no big deal for me. If a Microdisplay television is worth getting, which one should I get? There are some difference between the two, the Panasonic having a 1080i resolution, LCD screen, and being about $400 cheaper. The JVC has a "True 1080p" resolution, has an LCOS screen, and is more expensive. Then of course there are the traditional technological differences between the two, LCD screens having a screen-door effect at close viewing and not being able to produce deep black colors as well as DLP and LCOS, the latter which sometimes is associated with having problems producing all clear flat fields, like a Hockey rink for instance. I realize that currently there is no television channel being broadcast in 1080p, but I'm guessing towards the near future HD Channels will begin to adopt the format.