AVS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Can an AVR refurb REALLY more reliable than new?

EDIT: Thanks all - I've bought new :)

I'm a total novice, though I've come a long way in a few days thanks to this forum! I'm getting 2 KEF Q150s for a 2.0 setup and thought I'd get a Denon X1600H to match (+ give me room to grow down the road, and the room correction will be important for me!).

I was going to get it refurbished through an authorized refurb reseller often mentioned on this forum, and they claim:

"When you consider that a factory-renewed Denon product undergoes such close scrutiny for defects and workmanship, you might actually be buying something that is in many ways better than new."

Now, I can also try to get it for $60 more but NEW from a site that acts as an intermediary between buyers and exclusively authorized resellers.

My Question: If I can get a Denon X1600H new vs. refurbished, with the same warranty, for the same price or maybe $60 more, is it worth it? What are the chances that refurbished AVRs are as good as or better, more reliable, and so on? Thanks!

EDIT: Removed names of both retailers because I read "no price or 'where to buy' talk."

·
Registered
2,588 Posts
My Question: f I can get a Denon X1600H new vs. refurbished, with the same warranty, for the same price or maybe $20-40 more, is it worth it? Or are refurbished AVRs REALLY better, more reliable, and so on?
I have purchased both new and refurb units (refurbs from A4L). I doubt that, given both are assembled properly with the same parts, a refurb would ever be "better" than the new unit. They use the same components after all.

The reason I don't have any qualms purchasing a factory refurb unit is that someone has taken the time to go over the unit a 2nd (or 3rd, 4th, whatever) time, re-check everything and fix anything assembled incorrectly or replace initially bad components with good.