AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm seriously considering purchasing this new 50" DLP tv from Samsung (assuming it looks as good in real life as it looks on paper), which you'll notice has a DVI input. I know it's been proven that ATI has much better PQ than NVIDIA when using the analog VGA connector, but is there still a PQ difference when using the digital DVI connection?

I recently purchased a Refurbed Radeon LE with TV/S-Video out from newegg, but unfortunately it was DOA :(. They're now out of them, so I'm trying to decide what to replace it with...

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
I have no first-hand experience with this but:

The Radeon's advantages are not only in the output stage. It also has a superior hardware assist area and scaling engine, among other things.

·
Registered
10,201 Posts
Yes, apparently the Radeon uses bicubic interpolation in its scaling engine versus linear scaling found in the GeForce, resulting in higher scaling quality, even with DVI out.

·
Registered
1,001 Posts
ATI integrated all of the DVI on chip with the latest Radeons. It does not seem to be as high quality as the Silicon Image chip equipped nVidia cards. We've looked at the Radeon 7000, 7200, 7500, and 8500, as well as most of the major nVidia card manufacturers for the GF3, GF3ti200, GF3ti500, and GF4's. Your experiences, of course, could vary.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Does anyone have experience hooking up any of these cards below to a DVI Monitor/TV for DVD playback? What cards yeild the best picture quality w/ DVI out? Activities I'd like to my HTPC for over time:

+ DVD Playback

+ Analog TV recording & PVR

+ (eventually) HDTV tuning and PVR (once hardware & drivers mature)

+ potentially web-browsing

+ 3D Games

I'm looking to buy one of these Monitor/TVs w/ DVI inputs:

+ JVC 48" I'Art AV-48WP30 (w/ DVI input)

+ Samsung HLM507W DLP

Display Cards I'm considering: