AVS Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3,083 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, after some urging and a little arm bending
by a fellow AVSer, I decided to make this post to see if I can build a HT sub for my needs.

I was about to order the ED A2-300 when maybe faith interjected. I am looking for an HT sub design that has the shortest height (20') and shortest dept (20"), the width can be as wide as the screen, so about 8 feet.

My room is 16.5 L x 13 W x 10 H

Is there something that will perform as good (based on craigsub ranking) as the A2-300 for me to go down this path. I have no experience is this area whatsoever, but I give all you guys credit for knowledge in this area as I find it fascinating.

BTW - My budget is not big ($375-$400) and considering I don't have a router and maybe some other required tools, I will have to add those expenses to the budget also.

Any guidance and suggestions are appreciated. Thank you.

·
Registered
3,451 Posts
A router is a must for a high quality finish. You can do very well with a jigsaw and a guide(to cut circles,line guide also).

All the holes I saw cut by hand (besides very few)look like a chainsaw ws used.With a guide you are ok.

Driver, eD's 190v.2 ina sealed (4-4.5cu ft) or ported(larger,12-13cu cu ft ...EBS ) cabinet. You pay $200 for the driver...ah then add a plate amp($200 you should be on target).

The large 15-18" drivers offer the best displacement per dollar.

·
Registered
3,083 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks TheEAR. I should have mentioned, I only require the sub to be functional since it will be covered up, so it does not need to come out looking pretty by any means. Performance is most important and looks I really don't care about.

·
Registered
136 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tradewinds /forum/post/12998477