AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I've been using my sony STR-DE598 for about 6 years now paired with my Klipsch quintet. It was my first proper 5.1 setup. I've been happy with the speakers, but late '09 I upgraded to a 46" Sony KDL-46V5100 and picked up a PS3. I've got most of my video running direct to the TV via HDMI with the exception of my Wii and PS2(component to the LCD, optical out to receiver). All audio is from my hdmi devices are hooked up via optical or coax to my receiver.

I've been loving blu-ray on my PS3, but it bugs me a little that I'm not able to take advantage of TrueHD audio. I don't plan on upgrading my speakers any time soon. I've been looking at Denon's AVR-591/1612 and the AVR-1712, but I'm not sure if I'll be able to hear any difference. Since I'll still be running a 5.1 setup, will I benefit from the upgrade, aside from the convenience of hdmi? Or is it wiser to hold off until I feel it's time to replace my speakers too? Thanks.

·
Registered
4,967 Posts
I assume you're using a PS3 not a PS2, since the PS2 doesn't do Bluray.

In the case of a PS3, it doesn't do multi channel analog, which in the case of your receiver would be the only way to get the lossless formats (TrueHD, DTS-HD-MA), since it has 5.1 multi channel analog inputs. The difference in audio between lossless and lossy is small IMO unless you have the speakers to highlight it. The better the speakers, the bigger the difference. I can definitely tell the difference due to my speakers, so I would spend the bucks on speakers.

The largest benefit you'll get from a receiver sonically is the room correction feature (Audissey in the Denons), and it is well worth the upgrade, along with the simplicity of the HDMI routing of both video and audio. Your biggest bang for the buck, though is speakers, so to me, the best upgrade is speakers followed by a modern AVR with good room correction.

·
Registered
3 Posts