AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using my G11 for about 6 months inside a hush box with an exhaust fan. There have been no problems.

Yesterday I noticed that the side of the case where the fans are is so hot that you can barely hold your hand to it. At a guess I would say it may be 50'C.

Is this too hot or normal? Am I asking for trouble down the road?

NAD

·
Registered
707 Posts
Your projector is definitely running too hot if it is at 50 Celsius (approximately 122 degrees Fahrenheit). Many individuals are running their projectors in hushboxes at approximately 85 degrees. It sounds like you do not have enough airflow through the hushbox to eliminate the heat from the exhaust side of the projector. Prolonged use at elevated temperatures could potentially damage the panels in the projector.

·
Registered
1,286 Posts
I've been wondering about this, too (how to know if the hushbox on my D-ILA was cool enough.) I thought the worst that could happen was that the projector would turn itself off if it got too hot. This happened to me several times before I got the fan arrangement to its current configuration. Can the projector be too hot, but it doesn't turn itself off?

How hot is too hot?

- Dave

·
Registered
533 Posts
To get an idea of the temperature feel, I got a large cup of water to 50 degrees C. True, one cannot immerse one's hand for long. However, I held in my hand an NEC 150 projector, right after it had been in operation for about one hour and let me tell you, one side of it was absolutely burning. It was at least 50 degrees C.