Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Banned
2,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Im a total newb when it comes to front projectors. My dad has been into them but he still has an old crt low res projector.

I was thinking of getting one for my room, especially the Sanyo Z2 which seems like a great unit. I was looking at the sony s20 but it seems not to be worth the extra 1000.00 (please let me know if im wrong)

My room is only 11.5 feet by 10 feet. pretty small but can i use a front projection unit in this room?

-What would be the maximum size I could achieve ( I will be projecting onto the 11.5 foot wall. My sitting position is about 2 feet from the wall)

-what screen size would you recomend (as big as possible without seeing pixels)

-Is there a particular projector that is better for smaller rooms?

Also, I do alot of gaming (xbox, PS2) how would games look on a projector? Will it be close to that of a crt?

last question. How would the Sanyo Z2 or equally good projector compare to a RPTV LCD. I have seen the sony grand wegas and found the picture excellent except for the black levels. Are the black levels better on front projected units.

Sorry for all the question, but i would really appreciate some advice. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,229 Posts
If you do a lot of gaming I would consider a 4:3 projector. I use my projector 60% for video games (xbox and gamecube) so it makes sense to go 4:3. Some people say that this is silly since everything is going widescreen but theres a lot of 4:3 material out there. Also, you should check out DLP. DLP XGAs have gone done in price a lot and you can get something pretty bright for less then the Z2. I have a PB 7200 in a dorm room and I get a 100" diag image from 12 1/2 feet.