AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm finally ready to pull the trigger on a new TV. I've done a ton of research and I'm finding that it's hard to beat the 8500. Almost bought one a few months back, but decided to wait till some of the 2010's hit the market. With the new Sony's and the Samsung C7100 or 7000, whatever it is, it seems like none of them are coming close to the 8500. 3-D aside (I'm not adopting yet), I think I'm going to pull the trigger on the 8500, 55in for the living room and 46in for the bedroom. Can anyone tell me if this is a good move or bad. I'm not an expert or anything, but I just can't see anything topping the 8500. Thanks guys, any input would be great.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Well honestly it all comes down to preference but I ended up ordering my 8500 a few nights ago after extensive searching on all upcoming 2010 models. It seems that after Samsungs lawsuit they are afraid to do local dimming now so that to me means all of their LED sets will be a little less on par with the 8500's picture quality. The biggest disappointment this year is that every company wants to push 3D and IMO I could care less about that. All this is saying to me is that the Kuro and 8500 will be the kings of their respective panel technology for a while longer.

I'd say at the prices you can find the 8500 for now it's definetely well worth it if you are willing to spend the money.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My thoughts exactly. I was just bummed to find that all of Sammy's new 2010's are all Edge-Lit. From the pic's in other threads about the C7000, the flashlighting is in full effect on the 2010's. The wife and I are going to hit up the local stores this weekend and the prices on the 55 and 46 just seem to be at the right point.

·
Registered
16,749 Posts