AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notti /forum/post/20845527


Should I upgrade any parts or is this configuration good enough for what I want to do? I use Onair and Hauppauge HD PVR for recording, but I might replace Onair with HDHomerun. Your feedback is appreciated.

https://store.sony.com/webapp/wcs/st...2921644784016#

The link opens a I7 laptop, if that what is what you are thinking of getting for a dedicated HTPC it is overkill. If it is multi purpose then well O.K. but at $1K it is about double the cost of a good HTPC to do what you want.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks everybody. I don't play games, so that's not an issue. It might be an overkill, but my current laptop (which was not cheap) can't record and play HD at the same time, so I want to be sure. I was hoping to get like 5 years or so out of it, but it looks like it's failing. I need a replacement fast.


>at $1K it is about double the cost of a good HTPC

Another reason to bulid one, I suppose...


Can this one record and play HD simultaneously?
http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/...oid=2000006044


It's quadcore but doesn't seem all that fast.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-A-S...r.55753.0.html


Thanks again!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,652 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by walford /forum/post/20846402


Win7 Home Premium can support 2 HD tuners each recording 2 programs each and play back a 5th HF program cncurently Win 7 ultimate can support 4 dual tuner cards concurently.

Home Premium supports 4 tuners of each type just like Ultimate - meaning you could have 4 ATSC, 4 QAM and 4 NTSC. It doesn't care if all tuners are in 1 tuner card or 4 tuner cards - you are only limited by your motherboard connections. A hack is required if you want to get any Win7 version above 4 tuners of the same type.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notti /forum/post/20846432


Thanks everybody. I don't play games, so that's not an issue. It might be an overkill, but my current laptop (which was not cheap) can't record and play HD at the same time, so I want to be sure. I was hoping to get like 5 years or so out of it, but it looks like it's failing. I need a replacement fast.


>at $1K it is about double the cost of a good HTPC

Another reason to bulid one, I suppose...


Can this one record and play HD simultaneously?
http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/...oid=2000006044


It's quadcore but doesn't seem all that fast.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-A-S...r.55753.0.html


Thanks again!

The Llano processor is fine, see this thread or this thread . My only observation is the rather diminutive size of the Hard Drive, however if you do not want to store lots of shows then no problem. I ran with a 250GB and never ran out of space, but we tend to record --> watch ---> delete.


What is your current laptop? What tuner are you using? (nevermind that q, I just reread your first post) what issues do you have when watching while recording?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,364 Posts
Nowadays the biggest worry with laptops I would think is making sure you have a zippy 7200 rpm hardd drive, or better yet a second hard drive in the laptop which you record and playback everything on instead of the primary drive.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte /forum/post/20846506


you are only limited by your motherboard connections.

So you are limited by UBS ports or whatever the interfaces you need for your tuners?

Quote:
Originally Posted by winterescape /forum/post/20846613


however if you do not want to store lots of shows then no problem.


What is your current laptop? what issues do you have when watching while recording?

I also delete most of what I watch. I have exernal hard drives also. The current laptop is Lenovo Y710. Even more expensive than the Sony one in the first post, so I expected a bit more when I bought it for about 3 years ago. I typically record something using the onair tuner and if I play back a HD clip using, say, Media Player Classic, the play back gets pretty jerky. If I try to transfer a file on top of that, video stutters.

Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd /forum/post/20846637


Nowadays the biggest worry with laptops I would think is making sure you have a zippy 7200 rpm hardd drive, or better yet a second hard drive in the laptop which you record and playback everything on instead of the primary drive.

So would it help if I record to the local HD and play back from an external HD?


My current laptop a) goes into the windows recovery mode a couple of times every time I boot up and b) overheats. Typing this post is all I'm doing now, but it's already more than warm. Not hot, but warmer than just "warm." What could be a cause? The fan seems to be working. I'm running a cooler too. Does what I desribe symptoms for a failing mobo or something critical?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,364 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Notti /forum/post/20846860


So would it help if I record to the local HD and play back from an external HD?


My current laptop a) goes into the windows recovery mode a couple of times every time I boot up and b) overheats. Typing this post is all I'm doing now, but it's already more than warm. Not hot, but warmer than just "warm." What could be a cause? The fan seems to be working. I'm running a cooler too. Does what I desribe symptoms for a failing mobo or something critical?

You want to record and playback from secondary hard drive. Remember, windows and apps are constantly reading/writing to the drive the OS is on, so if you are recording to it, any latency issues result in glitches in the recording because the drive cannot keep up. You cannot predict when this will happen either. Add on top of that downloading **** from the internet/torrents/newsgroups/porn sites and your bound to have drive contention issues. Plus you need a large hard drive to store all of the HD recordings.


Going into recovery mode several time a day is bad news, maybe RAM, maybe GPU, maybe mobo. Its hard to tell.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
313 Posts
Looking at your old laptop I am concerned about your usb tuner and the HD speed (what he said ^^^^) . The graphics look sufficient.


No idea on the windows crash however the standard suggestions of scanning for virus/malware. Turn off all the software that runs in the background, taskbar, and at start up. Run a defrag on the drive.


You might check this laptop out if you have a bestbuy near. Read the reviews.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Lenovo+-...=1218347171491
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16,749 Posts
Recordihg takes almost no cpu power since the input encoded content goes directly to the disk without any processing using direct memory access. Playback of previously recorded content or concurrent recording and playing of content does used the cpu since the content has to be decompressed, decoded, and processeed for display.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by qz3fwd /forum/post/20847248


You want to record and playback from secondary hard drive.

You wrote that in the original post. I didn't read it carefully. Sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by winterescape /forum/post/20848971


You might check this laptop out if you have a bestbuy near. Read the reviews.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Lenovo+-...=1218347171491

Is a laptop that cheap sufficient? That's a lot of saving over what I was going to buy. But cheaper laptops don't seem to have digital audio out. I could live without it and use the current laptop when I need digital audio out as long as it functions. Hmm.

Quote:
Originally Posted by walford /forum/post/20849364


Recordihg takes almost no cpu power since the input encoded content goes directly to the disk without any processing using direct memory access. Playback of previously recorded content or concurrent recording and playing of content does used the cpu since the content has to be decompressed, decoded, and processeed for display.

I see.


Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
I didn't know there was such a device. Can you get Dolby Digital and/or DTS audio using it from Blu-ray and recorded files? Those cheapter Toshiba and Lenovo laptops discussed here don't seem to have toshlink or coax output, which my current laptop does.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,958 Posts
Haven't looked for ages - but my home-brew XP MCE HTPC I built about 8 years ago had a USB Soundblaster Audigy and I'm pretty certain that bitstreamed both Dolby and DTS via Toslink optical outputs.


I have certainly seen sub £10 USB sound cards with optical ins and outs that claim Dolby bitstreaming (not sure about DTS) but I'm sure with a bit of reserach you'll find something suitable. And I'm sure others here know a LOT more than me!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
500 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by sneals2000 /forum/post/20849771


Haven't looked for ages - but my home-brew XP MCE HTPC I built about 8 years ago had a USB Soundblaster Audigy and I'm pretty certain that bitstreamed both Dolby and DTS via Toslink optical outputs.


I have certainly seen sub £10 USB sound cards with optical ins and outs that claim Dolby bitstreaming (not sure about DTS) but I'm sure with a bit of reserach you'll find something suitable. And I'm sure others here know a LOT more than me!

Thanks. I'll look into this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by winterescape /forum/post/20850231


that laptop has hdmi with digital audio. What is it going into?

I don't have a receiver that accepts audio via HDMI. It has toslink and coax ins.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,696 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrwalte /forum/post/20852350


Is there a particular reason you want to be able to record on the laptop? A better, and cheaper, solution would be to build an i3 PC dedicated to HTPC duties. Assassin's guide is a good resource for building a HTPC.

I was wondering the same thing. With a laptop you are paying a premium for portability you won't use...
 
1 - 20 of 21 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top