AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I took a trip over to Robert Wood's house to check out his new NEC HT1000. All I can say is "WOW". I've been viewing CRTs for the last two years. My own Ampro 3600, Marquee 8500 and KennyG's NEC XG110. I've also seen a few DLP and wasn't impressed. After viewing the opening scene of Lost in Space and some shot from 5th Element I can say digitals have come along way. The HT1000 picture is brite, colorful, and very sharp and thats straight out the box with no tweaking and poor setup. The black level or shadow detail is much better than I would have thought. It's not as good as a CRT but for easy of use, size, and setup, I'm slowly but surely becoming a convert. Bob was using an HTPC with RGB cables and shooting a 70" picture for a temp viewing. I can't wait to see what it looks like with Guy Kuo's recommended filter and tweaks. The picture on this thing is as good as my Ampro and will give KennyG's XG110 a run for its money and it's so small, light, and cute. I will wait for the next generation to get cheaper and than I may switch. It all depend on my latest project, see below comments:

I'm in the process of re-tubing my Marquee 8500LC. I'm moving the good tubes from my non-LC 8500 to my 8500LC and yes I've remove the liquid cooling coupler from in front of the non-LC tube so that it will be a true LC tube. I've completed the Red tube and tested it for two hour with a movie, so far so good.

Andre

Pensacola HT Club (Fraza, KennyG(Missing in action), Robert Wood)

·
Registered
1,300 Posts
Oh No!!

Not you too Andre.

Is Bob spiking your drink or something ;)

·
Registered
16,014 Posts
I'll add only one thing to Andre's post.