AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,098 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
All I will use the PC I am building is for DVD playback and DScaler, and recording with WinDVR. What is the minimum AMD CPU that I will need, assuming that I am using Asus A7N266-VM motherboard?

Thanks

Gireesh

·
Registered
119 Posts
I just finished a build with an Abit NV7-133R nForce 415 board and an XP 1600+. I'm still tweaking, but I did test DScaler 4 Alpha with all of the filters on, and didn't get any dropped frames. The only time I dropped frames was when I tried recording stuff with DScaler, which I tried just to see what would happen.

So for DVD and DScaler, my nForce, XP1600+ combo works great and I have no problems recommending it. I've never used winDVR before so I can't comment.

Hope this helps,

Tony

·
Registered
3,510 Posts
Gireesh-

I use a P3 450 and it can handle Greedy High Motion which works very well for tv sources. I can also use the temporal noise filter and still maintain full framerate. A 350 could probably handle GHM if you didn't use any extra filters. Tomsmocomp needs at least a 1ghz.

·
Registered
860 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Jesse S
Gireesh-

I use a P3 450 and it can handle Greedy High Motion which works very well for tv sources. I can also use the temporal noise filter and still maintain full framerate. A 350 could probably handle GHM if you didn't use any extra filters. Tomsmocomp needs at least a 1ghz.