AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just finished installing my new Hughes HIRD-E86 platinum HD receiver and so far I like it a lot more than my DTC-100. I'm still learning and am interested in any little tricks out there that other owners know. Also my E86 tried to update it's software at midnight, I rather it not update it self, so I pulled the plug, does anybody know how I can keep it from changing/updating the software? or what the new software does?

Thanks Dean

·
Registered
3,175 Posts
Dean: Next time the software wants to update, let it! Your menu probably operates a little sluggishly right now. The 5099 update speeds up the menu. You have the best STB in existence in my opinion. Read the manual and you will see many great features on this unit. If you have any specific questions, PM me and I will be glad to answer them, but the manual is pretty thorough.

·
Registered
813 Posts
Dean,

All in all a great box, but you must keep it well ventilated. I have had problems with mine due to excessive heat buildup in an enclosed cabinet. I am using fans now to keep it cool. If you search the forum you will find a few threads that speak of this problem. Keep it cool and you'll be in great shape. Note that the box stays warm even when off.

Let the box take the 5099 update too. It speeds up the menu and gives you a few more options than 5046 firmware and it also corrects some problems associated with the 5085 firmware.

enjoy....

Ralph

·
Registered
136 Posts
I just replaced a Mits HD SR5 (high def input fried during lighting strike) with the Hughes E86. It, in all respects, is the same box. Instruction manual identical except for "Hughes" name and label vs. "Mitsubishi". Operation, menus, remote, etc. identical.

5099 Upgrade occurred in early morning hours after STB hooked up and activated. Had to reset guide by going to Local and reinstalling zip code and cable company.