AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now im new to this and wasn't really sure if this is were i should post this but i am attempting to build my first 5.1 system and wanted to make sure everything is up to scratch and work well together. I'm not sure if this is true or not but i remember reading somewhere that if you dont have speakers that are of the same brand you may run into a timing problem or something with the speakers that is the only reason i picked all Polk equipment. I am looking to spend around 1000 or less but here is what i have picked out. Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Polk Audio TSi CS20 - center channel speaker

Polk Audio TSi 300 - Floor speaker

Polk Audio PSW10 Subwoofer

Polk Monitor 30 Satellite

Sony STR-DG920 A/V Receiver

I suppose i should mention that it will be used for about 80% movies and 20% music also the room is about 10X15 sqr ft room

·
Registered
3,575 Posts
Here a suggestion:

- KEF iQ1, 2 pair at $200/pair from Vann's

- KEF iQ2, $150 from Vann's

- PA-120 sub, $230 on eBay

$780 for a decent 5.1 (if you can afford more go fo an SVS PB10-NSD, $429 plus shipping, or HSU STF-2 sub, $385 delivered).

For an AVR:

- if your Blu-ray does the decoding - Marantz 4002 for $300 from accessories4les

- decode in receiver, Onkyo 606 for $390 from Vann's

·
Registered
1,379 Posts
Nothing wrong with that set-up as long as you audition them and like them. Chances are......you are better off going with a SVS or HSU sub. Don't go cheap on subwoofer, especially for HT. If it was my budget, I would rather go a different route like the Infinity P362 or Polk RTi8 at frys(unless you can get the TSi for the same price) and add the money saved to get a better sub. Or stick with the TSi and increase my budget for a good sub.

·
Registered
2,683 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ldfishcrackers /forum/post/15512003